Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection confirmed

After the rumors last week, Konami has now officially announced the Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection for PlayStation 3. This package will include Metal Gear Solid, Metal Gear Solid 2, Metal Gear Solid 3 (also includes the first two games, Metal Gear and Metal Gear 2: Solid Snake), Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker, Metal Gear Solid: VR Missions and Metal Gear Solid 4. Also included are two Metal Gear Solid Digital Graphic Novel by Ashley Wood.


Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection will release in America in June of this year. A price and exact release date has not yet been announced, and neither have details for the other regions.

Source: Konami,

  • Hope it won’t cost much.

    • Idk about that. I mean 5 games for $60? That’s a pretty darn good deal. What would be a better deal is $50 or $40 for this Ultimate Metal Gear Solid collection.

    • Naffered

      With 5 Daivd Hayters, I know its worth it.

  • Markos

    No extras?!? No PO?!? No Twin Snakes?!? NO BUY!!!

    • Gex

      Twin Snakes can’t happen, as for Portable thats actually a good question. . .

  • HaytersGoneHayte

    5 games voiced by DAVID HAYTER for the price of 1? I think I might just explode!

  • Just Awesome!! This collection will just make Metal Gear’s sagas even more famous. People will know and understand the complex story at last.

  • Pingback: Metal Gear Solid Legacy Collection is a Go! | Nekked Snake's Hideout()

  • Debeat

    What about twin snakes??? We are real fans! Not casual players. Im way dissapointed mr. Kojima

    • Jason

      It is literately not possible for the Twin Snakes to be included.

  • JMG2
    According to Sean Eyestone, The Twin Snakes is not canon. That is why it’s not in the HD Collection, and why it’s excluded here. MGS1 is the canon representation of the Shadow Moses Incident, which is why that game is included with this Legacy collection.

    • Jax-Son

      Its not in the HD collection, because it can’t be.

      1. N owns the rights to the game.

      2. There are Nintendo assets in the game that would have to be removed (Gamecube, Wavebird and Mario/Yoshi)

      3. The game would have to be entirely re-worked with new dialogue and reformatted to read the PS3 rather than Gamecube memory cards and well as the controls needing to be competently overhauled

      Regardless of how cannon it is, its not going to happen people.

      There might be hope for and HD remake though.

      • JMG2

        “Regardless of how canon it is”? The point of the article I linked to is to prove that TTS is NOT canon.

        Sean Eyestone gives the official reason for TTS’ exclusion from the HD Collection; because it is not canon. Everything else you said is not part of the official reasoning and thus speculation.

  • iSolidus

    Too bad it doesn’t include the Portable Ops and Ac!d games. Now it feels kind of incomplete. But I probably buy it anyway…

  • Pingback: Metal Gear Solid Legacy Collection is a Go! | I just wrote a blog()

  • Freesun4

    Portable Ops feels like a better prequel than Peace Walker to me. PO explained how Big Boss got the money for Outer Heaven, what happened with the Philosophers, the Patriots’ origins and has lots of returning characters. Peace Walker has Big Boss’ dark development and Master Miller

  • JMG2

    New website, and timeline;

  • Joseph Russo

    does anyone have the universal code to download mgs1 and mgs1 vr missions? i bought mine used and dont have the code, someone please help.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.