Metal Gear Solid V: The Definitive Experience officially announced

Konami has officially announced Metal Gear Solid V: The Definitive Experience, after rumors began surfacing last month. As expected, the bundle will include both Ground Zeroes and The Phantom Pain, as well as all of the DLC. For now, the title has only been announced for PlayStation 4 and Xbox One, with details on the PC version coming at a later date. Apparently, The Definitive Experience won’t be released for PS3 and Xbox 360. It will release on October 11th in the US for $49.99, on October 13th in Europe for €39.99 and on October 14th in the UK for £34.99.



Check out the official press release below:

Konami Digital Entertainment B.V. today announced METAL GEAR SOLID V: THE DEFINITIVE EXPERIENCE. Available on PlayStation®4 computer entertainment system, the Xbox One, the all-in-one games and entertainment system from Microsoft and PC via Steam on October 13th, METAL GEAR SOLID V: THE DEFINITIVE EXPERIENCE will come complete with METAL GEAR SOLID V: GROUND ZEROES, METAL GEAR SOLID V: THE PHANTOM PAIN and METAL GEAR ONLINE. Additionally, **THE DEFINITIVE EXPERIENCE will include a selection of DLC for each product.

“METAL GEAR SOLID V has received collectively over 60 industry accolades and awards thus far,” said Tomotada Tashiro, President for Konami Digital Entertainment B.V. “THE DEFINITIVE EXPERIENCE will give players an opportunity to play the complete MGSV experience, without interruption. Additionally, with METAL GEAR ONLINE, players also get access to a completely unique multi-player setting that is designed for a truly engrossing gaming experience as well.”

METAL GEAR SOLID V: GROUND ZEROES takes place in 1975 and sets in motion a series of events that culminate in the stunning plotlines of METAL GEAR SOLID V: THE PHANTOM PAIN. GROUND ZEROES centers on Big Boss – legendary hero and mercenary – as he infiltrates a sprawling secret prison base called ‘Camp Omega’ in Cuba on a rescue mission. He soon finds himself alone behind enemy lines with a truly non-linear mission that showcases key advances to the series made possible by its use of the FOX Engine.

Continuing the story of Big Boss, METAL GEAR SOLID V: THE PHANTOM PAIN is the series’ largest and most ambitious edition to date, expanding upon themes and content seen in its predecessor: METAL GEAR SOLID V: GROUND ZEROES. Set within huge open-world environments, METAL GEAR SOLID V: THE PHANTOM PAIN is brought to vivid life with realistic weather patterns and day/night cycles. Thus, players can adapt their tactics to match the changing environment, creating an intuitive and non-linear gameplay experience. Similarly, a host of acclaimed METAL GEAR SOLID features return in hugely advanced forms, including expanded CQC (Close-Quarter Combat) skills, vastly improved enemy AI, online elements that complement the single player campaign, and an all-new version of METAL GEAR ONLINE, a competitive multiplayer mode, included within the main game, that is currently live, online and available for users to play.

METAL GEAR ONLINE is built around a dedicated squad-based competitive multiplayer structure, which has been fully redesigned with the familiar gameplay and aesthetic styling of the acclaimed METAL GEAR SOLID series. The online element introduces Tactical Team Operations and features a ‘class system’ that more uniquely defines the strengths and abilities of player characters on the battlefield. Players can select from 3 distinct classes: Scout, Enforcer and Infiltrator.

METAL GEAR SOLID V: THE DEFINITIVE EXPERIENCE is scheduled to be released on October 13th for the PlayStation®4 computer entertainment system, the Xbox One, the all-in-one games and entertainment system from Microsoft.

**The Steam version pricing and content details will be confirmed at a later date, an announcement will be made shortly.

All of the DLC included with the Definitive Experience

In Japan, the game will be released on November 10th. The Japanese version looks like this:


Some additional information Konami provided via social media:

  • The Definitive Experience is mainly meant for new players who hadn’t had a chance to play the games yet, now they can get everything in one package.
  • Both GZ and TPP as well as the DLC will be on one disc.
  • The Definitive Experience won’t have it’s own trophies but will use the same list as the separate releases of GZ and TPP.
  • Aside from the trophies, your save file will transfer over as well.
  • The team considered releasing the title for PS3 and Xbox 360 as well, but eventually decided to release it for current gen consoles only and consolidate the community.
  • The main menu will include a listing that lets you choose between GZ and TPP but other than that will be the same as the original.

Source: Konami, MGSV Official Website, MG Official Japanese Twitter, MG Official Twitter, Reddit

Follow Us

Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter